Agar-Agar is a gelatinous substance derived from red algae that have been popular across Asia for centuries. It is derived from plants, not animals. It is suitable for use by vegans as a substitute for gelatin. Just add water, and this Agar Agar powder can be a saviour for your recipe. Consistent in quality and flavourless, the powder can substitute for gelatin, eggs, or anything you want to hold your ingredients together.